René Obermann nominated to join Telenor board

Jason McGee-Abe
Published on:

Former Deutsche Telekom CEO, René Obermann, has been recommended by Telenor’s nomination committee to become a new member of its board of directors

rene-obermann 160x186The nomination is effective 1 January 2018 and comes in accordance to the announcement from the committee in May which stated the intention to nominate a new member to the Board of Directors during autumn 2017.

The nomination will be on the agenda when the Corporate Assembly of Telenor ASA meets on Thursday 16 November. 

In addition to Obermann, the Telenor ASA Board will then consist of:

Gunn Wærsted (chairperson);
Jørgen Kildahl;
Jacob Aqraou;
Sally Davis;
Jon Erik Reinhardsen;
Grethe Viksaas;
Roger Rønning (employee representative);
Harald Stavn (employee representative); and
Sabah Qayyum (employee representative).

Obermann has broad experience from the telecom industry, most recently as the CEO of Ziggo, the Dutch cable and internet provider, which he joined on January 1 2014. Prior to this he was the CEO of Deutsche Telekom from 2006-2013. 

His career includes CEO roles at T-Mobile International and before that at Hutchison Mobilfunk Germany (formerly branded as ABC Telekom, which he had founded in 1986). He has also served as the vice president of the German Federal Association for Information Technology, Telecommunications and New Media from 2007-2013.  GTB